Beta Gamma

College of Wooster


Historical facts: ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

  1. Beta Gamma Chapter was chartered one year after Kappa Alpha Theta started a chapter at Wooster.

  2. Throughout its 38-year history, Beta Gamma initiated 258 women.

  3. In order to retain the support of one of Wooster’s biggest benefactors, who was not in sympathy with fraternities, the faculty asked all fraternal organizations to give up their charters. Mr. L.H. Severance said he would refuse financial assistance if “the caste system” was maintained.

  4. Beta Gamma was originally named Gamma, but after the 1890 Convention voted a new naming convention, the prefix "Beta" was added to signal that it was the second time the name Gamma had been given to a chapter.

Fun facts:

  1. The chapter at Wooster was the second chapter to be known as Gamma and, after 1890, it became known as Beta Gamma.

  2. Edith Reese Crabtree served as Fraternity President from 1952–56 and was also the recipient of the Loyalty Award in 1964. 

  3. Margaret Moore was appointed as a collegian to chair a committee to design the Kappa Coat-of-Arms.

College of Wooster

Learn more about